The Dhandho Investor is one of the books that can part a lot of wisdom to investors like us. There are plenty of investors out their and there are only few ones that are actually successful in what they are doing. We must seem for these types of people but they are often out of our reach and the easiest way to learn from them is by seeking some of the information that they shared on the public. One of this is by reading the books that they published. During in one of my research, I have stumbled upon a book named Dhandho Investor. I thought it would be a useful book so I read it. In this article, I will summarize this book that I thought that would be useful for any aspiring investors out there.

The term ’Dhandho’ in Mph mosh Pabrai’s book The Dhandho Investor is a Gujarati word that literally means endeavours that create wealth. Broadly, it means doing business. But the word also carries a special connotation. It refers to the ‘low-risk high-return’ approach to business that is the hallmark of Gujaratis.
The author, Mohnish Pabrai is a US-based fund manager and a value investor. He advocates investing in a stock at the time of maximum pessimism, when its price has been beaten down by negative news. Reacting in a knee-jerk fashion, the markets tend to drive the prices of such stocks very low, often far more than is warranted by the magnitude of the problem.
Whenever a negative news comes out, this well knowledgeable investor can see this a a the market making a mountain out of a mole hill, and with time the company will be able to work its way out of the hole. He buys the stock and holds it until the company, and its stock price, recover. Warren Buffett, the greatest investor of all time as well as Pabrai’s inspiration, has purchased a huge portion of stocks in American Express after the salad oil scandal and this was a classic play along these lines.

Pabrai begins his book by citing examples that illustrate the ‘dhandho’ way of investing. The Patels, who were driven out of Uganda by Idi Amin, landed in the US in 1972 as impoverished immigrants. The USA’s motel industry was then in a recession. The Patels bought motels at very low prices. They pared operating costs to the bone by removing hired help and deploying family labour. From those humble beginnings, the community has amassed motel properties in the US worth over $40 billion.
Lakshmi Mittal, the steel magnate, also personifies the ‘dhandho’ approach. He buys steel plants in distressed geographies amid depressed economic conditions. Steel is anyway an industry whose economics are considered unattractive. Since no other entrepreneur will touch closed steel mills in places like Kazakhstan with a barge pole, Mittal is able to buy them for 10 cents to the dollar. He then turns them around with competent management.

 

By buying an asset at a very low price, you curtail your downside risk — the maximum you can lose. The upside — what you can make — is potentially very large. As conditions improve, beaten down assets begin to perform and turn into money spinners. You must, of course, be astute enough to be able to distinguish between assets that have suffered only a temporary setback versus those that have got permanently impaired.
Pabrai is a former tech entrepreneur. He sold his start-up — which he had launched with a meagre capital of $100,000 — for $20 million in just 10 years. In 2000 he started the Pabrai Fund. He is an acolyte of Warren Buffett and Charlie Munger and admits to having borrowed liberally from their value-oriented approach.
Investing, according to the author, should be treated as a game of probability. Invest only when the odds are overwhelmingly in your favour, that is, valuations are very attractive. Such opportunities arise only rarely. When one comes your way, make a big bet. Make only a few but large bets, he advocates. He favours running a concentrated portfolio of only 5-10 stocks whose businesses you understand well.
After buying a stock at a deep discount, Pabrai suggests holding it for 18 months to three years. That is the time required for the clouds hovering over the company to dissipate and for the valuation gap — between the stock’s market price and its intrinsic value — to close. He likes to buy stocks priced at 50 per cent of intrinsic value and sells once it approaches 90-100 per cent. If the stock price hasn’t recovered in three years, there has probably been a mistake in stock selection.

71 Comments
  1. What’s up, after reading this amazing piece of
    writing i am also glad to share my experience here with friends.

  2. Keep on writing, great job!

    Review my blog http://Leave2Cleave.Com/

  3. stornobrzinol 3 months ago

    Nice post. I used to be checking continuously this weblog and I am inspired! Extremely helpful info specifically the ultimate section 🙂 I deal with such info much. I was looking for this certain info for a long time. Thanks and best of luck.

  4. Would love to perpetually get updated great weblog! .

  5. Leonor 3 months ago

    Wonderful post! We are linking to this particularly great content on our site.
    Keep up the good writing.

  6. Lynwood 3 months ago

    Hey there just wanted to give you a quick heads up.

    The text in your article seem to be running
    off the screen in Firefox. I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but
    I thought I’d post to let you know. The layout look great though!

    Hope you get the problem solved soon. Cheers

  7. Truvita CBD Reviews 3 months ago

    Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found
    that it’s truly informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels.
    I will appreciate if you continue this in future. Numerous people will be
    benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    my web site; Truvita CBD Reviews

  8. 918kiss sg 3 months ago

    hello there and thank you for your information – I’ve certainly picked up anything new
    from right here. I did however expertise a few technical issues using this
    web site, since I experienced to reload the site a lot of times previous
    to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web
    hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances
    times will sometimes affect your placement in google and
    can damage your high quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords.
    Anyway I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for much more of your respective interesting content.
    Make sure you update this again soon.

    Feel free to surf to my web blog: 918kiss sg

  9. Fantastic goods from you, man. I’ve keep in mind your stuff prior to and you are just too
    fantastic. I actually like what you’ve acquired here,
    really like what you’re stating and the best way wherein you say it.
    You make it entertaining and you continue to take care
    of to keep it wise. I cant wait to read much more from you.
    This is really a great website.

    Also visit my blog post: Essential Nutrition Male Enhancement

  10. I beloved up to you will receive performed proper here.
    The caricature is tasteful, your authored subject matter stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get got an shakiness over that
    you wish be handing over the following. in poor health indubitably come
    more formerly again as exactly the same just about very steadily within case you protect this increase.

    Take a look at my website … Divine Dynamic Keto Review

  11. playboy2 ios 3 months ago

    You can certainly see your expertise within the
    work you write. The arena hopes for even more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to mention how they believe.

    Always go after your heart.

    My web-site; playboy2 ios

  12. Niagara XL Review 3 months ago

    I always was concerned in this subject and still am,
    thanks for putting up.

    My page :: Niagara XL Review

  13. Allura Fresh 3 months ago

    My brother recommended I might like this blog.
    He was totally right. This post truly made my day.
    You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this info!
    Thanks!

    Feel free to surf to my webpage Allura Fresh

  14. I’m impressed, I must say. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s equally educative
    and amusing, and without a doubt, you have hit the nail on the head.
    The problem is something that too few men and women are speaking intelligently about.
    Now i’m very happy that I came across this in my search for something relating to this.

    My web page: https://mpc-install.com/punbb-1.4.6/viewtopic.php?id=865631

  15. TechPro Wifi 3 months ago

    It’s awesome in favor of me to have a web site, which is beneficial
    in favor of my know-how. thanks admin

    Also visit my page; TechPro Wifi

  16. Pretty portion of content. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and
    in accession capital to claim that I get actually loved account your
    blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing for your feeds or even I
    success you get right of entry to persistently quickly.

    my web site: Gorges De Soleil Anti Wrinkle Cream

  17. Thank you a bunch for sharing this with all of us you really realize what you are speaking about!
    Bookmarked. Please also visit my site =). We can have a link trade arrangement between us!

    My web page: Gorges De Soleil Cream Ingredients

  18. Do you have a spam issue on this site; I also am a blogger, and I
    was wanting to know your situation; we have created some nice practices and we are looking to swap methods with other
    folks, why not shoot me an email if interested.

    My web blog – Essential Nutrition Keto

  19. kunjungi situs 3 months ago

    I am really impressed ᴡith yojr writing skillѕ and also wifh
    the lаyout on your blog. Ӏs this a pzid theme or did you mօdify it
    yourself? Either wаy kep up thhe eхcellent quality writіng, it’s rɑre to
    see a nce blog like this one noѡadays.

  20. Excellent way of describing, and nice article to obtain facts about my
    presentation subject matter, which i am going to present in institution of higher education.

    Here is my web blog: http://vip5.moisait2021.ru/viewtopic.php?id=1706

  21. This piece of writing is really a nice one it assists new the web users, who are wishing in favor of blogging.

    my site: Essential Male Enhancement

  22. Joker123 slot thai 3 months ago

    Saya tidak bisa menahan diri dari berkomentar. Sangat baik ditulis!

    my blog … Joker123 slot thai

  23. I know this web site offers quality dependent
    posts and other stuff, is there any other website which
    presents such stuff in quality?

    Here is my web site … http://marchegabonais.com

  24. marchegabonais.com 3 months ago

    This website was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I have found something that helped me.
    Thanks a lot!

    Feel free to visit my page: marchegabonais.com

  25. Gorges Cream Reviews 3 months ago

    This is really attention-grabbing, You are a very professional blogger.
    I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking extra
    of your wonderful post. Also, I have shared your site in my social
    networks!

    My homepage: Gorges Cream Reviews

  26. usa mobile casino 3 months ago

    Hi, I think your website might be having browser compatibility
    issues. When I look at your blog in Firefox, it
    looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that,
    amazing blog!

  27. Rhino Spark Reviews 3 months ago

    Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having problems locating
    it but, I’d like to shoot you an email. I’ve got some recommendations for your blog
    you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website
    and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.

    Feel free to surf to my web-site – Rhino Spark Reviews

  28. Truvita CBD 2 months ago

    Woh I love your articles, saved to fav!

    Here is my site; Truvita CBD

  29. Thanks for some other informative website. The place else may I am getting that kind of information written in such an ideal approach?
    I’ve a project that I am simply now operating
    on, and I have been at the glance out for such info.

    Also visit my web site: New Flow XL Male Enhancement Review

  30. Slimingo 2 months ago

    I am sure this piece of writing has touched all the internet people, its really really nice post on building
    up new blog.

    Feel free to surf to my blog Slimingo

  31. Robin 2 months ago

    I need to to thank you for this great read!! I definitely loved every bit
    of it. I’ve got you book-marked to look at new
    things you post…

    my webpage … Robin

  32. Eggplant Explosion 2 months ago

    Thank you for sharing with us, I believe this website genuinely stands out :D.

    Here is my web site; Eggplant Explosion

  33. It’s the best time to make a few plans for the long
    run and it is time to be happy. I have learn this submit and if I may I want to suggest you few
    interesting things or tips. Maybe you could write subsequent
    articles referring to this article. I desire to read even more issues about it!

    Feel free to surf to my web page; https://dclwiki.com/index.php/User:AdrianDawes3338

  34. Phincat Lean 2 months ago

    Your style is really unique in comparison to other people I’ve
    read stuff from. I appreciate you for posting when you have the opportunity,
    Guess I will just bookmark this site.

    my web-site: Phincat Lean

  35. Hey there! I understand this is kind of off-topic but I
    needed to ask. Does running a well-established website such as yours require a massive amount work?
    I am completely new to blogging but I do write in my journal daily.
    I’d like to start a blog so I can share my personal experience and views online.
    Please let me know if you have any recommendations or tips for
    new aspiring bloggers. Thankyou!

    Feel free to visit my web page – Rhino Spark Male Enhancement Reviews

  36. Body Core Keto Review 2 months ago

    After looking into a handful of the articles on your web site,
    I honestly appreciate your way of writing a blog.
    I book-marked it to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back in the near future.

    Please visit my web site too and tell me what you think.

    Also visit my website Body Core Keto Review

  37. Nitro Strive Reviews 2 months ago

    I really value your piece of work, Great post.

    My blog; Nitro Strive Reviews

  38. You made some decent points there. I looked on the internet for
    the issue and found most individuals will consent with your blog.

    Feel free to surf to my blog :: http://forum.adm-tolka.ru

  39. Xoth Keto BHB Review 2 months ago

    I wanted to visit and let you know how considerably I treasured discovering your blog
    today. I might consider it a honor to work at my business office and be able to
    make use of the tips contributed on your web
    site and also be involved in visitors’ remarks like this.
    Should a position of guest article writer become on offer at your end, i highly recommend you let
    me know.

    my web blog Xoth Keto BHB Review

  40. Very fantastic info can be found on web site.

    my blog … Keto Premium One Shot Ingredients

  41. ways for sex 2 months ago

    Terrific article! This is the kind of info that should be shared around the net.

    Shame on the seek engines for no longer positioning this
    publish upper! Come on over and discuss with my website .

    Thsnk you =)

  42. Blosum CBD 2 months ago

    Incredible points. Solid arguments. Keep up the good work.

    Look into my blog post Blosum CBD

  43. Excellent beat ! I would like to apprentice while you
    amend your web site, how could i subscribe for a blog website?

    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright
    clear concept

    Also visit my webpage Apple Cider Vinegar Keto Review

  44. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out much.
    I hope to give something back and aid others like you aided me.

    Feel free to surf to my web-site; aroundsuannan.ssru.ac.th

  45. 여성알바 2 months ago

    It’s difficult to find knowledgeable people in this
    particular subject, however, you sound like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks

  46. idnpoker 1 month ago

    Terrific article! That is the type of information that
    are meant to be shared across the internet. Disgrace on Google for
    no longer positioning this put up upper! Come
    on over and discuss with my site . Thanks =)

  47. of web hosting 1 month ago

    What’s up to all, how is the whole thing, I think every one is getting more
    from this website, and your views are pleasant in support of new viewers.

  48. http://t.co 4 weeks ago

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back
    to your website? My blog is in the very same niche as yours and my visitors would really benefit from a lot of the
    information you present here. Please let me know if this alright with you.

    Appreciate it!

  49. bitly.com 4 weeks ago

    Hi there! This post could not be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my good old room mate!

    He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this
    page to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read.
    Many thanks for sharing!

  50. scoliosis surgery why 4 weeks ago

    Greate post. Keep posting such kind of info on your site.
    Im really impressed by it.
    Hi there, You’ve performed an incredible job.
    I’ll definitely digg it and personally suggest to my friends.
    I’m sure they will be benefited from this website.

  51. http://j.mp/38vuS56 4 weeks ago

    Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this
    website. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard to get
    that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and appearance.
    I must say that you’ve done a awesome job with this.
    In addition, the blog loads extremely quick for me on Firefox.
    Excellent Blog!

  52. That is a good tip especially to those new to the blogosphere.
    Simple but very accurate info? Thank you for sharing this one.
    A must read article!

    Stop by my website – Yoni Tightening Capsules

  53. bitly.com 3 weeks ago

    Its such as you learn my thoughts! You seem to
    know a lot about this, such as you wrote the e book in it or something.
    I believe that you simply could do with a few p.c.
    to drive the message home a little bit, however
    other than that, that is fantastic blog. A great read. I will certainly be
    back.

  54. Touche. Sound arguments. Keep up the great effort.

  55. a scoliosis surgery 3 weeks ago

    Great article! That is the type of information that should
    be shared across the net. Disgrace on the search engines for no longer positioning this put
    up upper! Come on over and talk over with my site . Thank you =)

  56. an quest bars 2 weeks ago

    For hottest information you have to visit world-wide-web and on internet I found this website as a finest web site for most recent updates.
    quest bars http://bitly.com/3C2tkMR quest bars

  57. app.gumroad.com 2 weeks ago

    Asking questions are in fact pleasant thing if you are not
    understanding anything entirely, but this piece of writing gives nice understanding even. asmr https://app.gumroad.com/asmr2021/p/best-asmr-online asmr

  58. I don’t know if it’s just me or if everybody else experiencing problems with your blog.
    It seems like some of the text on your content are running off
    the screen. Can someone else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them too?
    This may be a problem with my browser because I’ve had this happen previously.
    Appreciate it

    Also visit my blog post Tacoma Farms CBD Oil Review

  59. bit.ly 2 weeks ago

    This post is invaluable. Where can I find out
    more? scoliosis surgery https://0401mm.tumblr.com/ scoliosis surgery

  60. bitly.com 2 weeks ago

    Greetings I am so glad I found your web site, I really found you by mistake, while I was searching on Aol for something else, Nonetheless I am
    here now and would just like to say cheers for a tremendous post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t
    have time to go through it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and
    also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be
    back to read much more, Please do keep up the awesome job.
    cheap flights http://1704milesapart.tumblr.com/ cheap flights

  61. www.iherb.com 2 weeks ago

    Excellent website you have here but I was curious if you knew of any discussion boards that cover the
    same topics talked about in this article? I’d really like to be a part
    of group where I can get feed-back from other knowledgeable people
    that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know.
    Many thanks! quest bars https://www.iherb.com/search?kw=quest%20bars quest bars

  62. coub.com 2 weeks ago

    Howdy! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you
    using for this website? I’m getting fed up of
    Wordpress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform.
    I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good
    platform. scoliosis surgery https://coub.com/stories/962966-scoliosis-surgery scoliosis surgery

  63. j.mp 2 weeks ago

    Hello there! This blog post couldn’t be written any better!
    Looking through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!

    He continually kept talking about this. I am going to forward
    this post to him. Fairly certain he will have a great read.
    Many thanks for sharing! ps4 games https://bit.ly/3z5HwTp ps4

  64. Javier 2 weeks ago

    Perfectly composed written content, appreciate it for information.

    my webpage Javier

  65. A1 Keto BHB Reviews 2 weeks ago

    I every time spent my half an hour to read this
    web site’s articles or A1 Keto BHB Reviews everyday along with a cup of coffee.

  66. My family members all the time say that I am killing my time here at web, but I
    know I am getting know-how every day by
    reading such nice articles or reviews.

    Here is my page: urbandevelopment.com.pl

  67. Definitely imagine that which you said. Your favourite justification seemed to
    be at the net the simplest thing to be mindful of.

    I say to you, I certainly get irked even as other people think about
    worries that they plainly do not recognize about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the top and outlined
    out the whole thing without having side-effects , other folks could take a signal.
    Will probably be again to get more. Thanks!

    Also visit my page: https://www.fscrystal.net

  68. web.treo8.com 6 days ago

    This is very attention-grabbing, You’re an excessively professional blogger.

    I have joined your rss feed and sit up for in the hunt for extra of your excellent post.
    Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks

    Look into my homepage … web.treo8.com

  69. khoquet.com 4 days ago

    Hello my family member! I want to say that this post is awesome,
    nice written and include approximately all significant infos.
    I’d like to look more posts like this.

    Here is my web blog; khoquet.com

  70. weight watchers 4 days ago

    Hello, Neat post. There’s an issue along with your site in internet explorer, may test this?
    IE still is the marketplace leader and a good component to folks will pass over your wonderful writing due to
    this problem.

    My web-site :: weight watchers

  71. dry skin 4 days ago

    This is really fascinating, You are an overly professional blogger.
    I’ve joined your feed and stay up for in the hunt for more of your great
    post. Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks

    Here is my web-site :: dry skin

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Sending

FINWAZE makes no representations or warranties, express or implied, in relation to this website (www.finwaze.com) or the information and materials provided on this website. It does not also warrants that this website will be constantly available or available at all times. The information on this website is complete, true, accurate or non-misleading. Nothing on this website constitutes, or is meant to constitute, advice of any kind. FINWAZE shall not be liable for any damage or injury, whether direct or indirect, that it may cause in relation to the contents of, or use of, or otherwise in connection with this website. By using this website, you agree to the reasonableness of the limitations of liabilities herein set out and further agree to assume whatever risk, loss, damage or injury in may cause in connection to the use of this website. No claims shall be brought personally against the officers and employees of FINWAZE, in connection with the use of this website. The user of this website agree to the limitations of warranties and liabilities herein set out to protect the officers, employees, agents, subsidiaries, successors, assigns and sub-contractors as well as FINWAZE. Any unenforceable provisions that may be found on this website under applicable law shall not affect the enforceability of the other provisions.

Legal Documents  |  ©2021 Finwaze Philippines

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?